FFXV Guide to Weapons, Magics, and Royal Arms

Final Fantasy XV offers 7 types of normal weapon, two types of magic, and a special weapon belong to the royal family of Lucis Kingdom, royal arms. Each weapon has different attacking styles, combos as well as usage in a fight.

Noctis is the only character in the game being able to wield any types of weapon. In addition, he can wield up to four types of arms at the same time, while other characters can only hold two.

Learn how to unlock all secrets and hidden stories with this Final Fantasy XV Strategy Guide by Killer Guides. Complete walk-through, step-by-step levelling strategies, character progressions, combat tricks, side quests, hidden items, gear, gil making, and more are included in this detailed manual.

You can read my review here.

Normal Weapon

One-handed sword

The one-handed sword is a versatile sword suitable for all kinds of close-quarter combat. It is quick yet deals moderate damage. The one-handed sword is especially good at a hit-and-run style.

The one-handed sword combo involves a quick slash following by several slashes in a short period of time. Noctis can even flip back (Down analog stick + O while attacking), dodge, and execute an aerial combo.


The greatsword is a big two-handed sword dealing heavy damage to several enemies at once. Noctis can even charge it for a greater damage. However, the weak point of the sword is its slowness. Holding a consecutive greatsword attack can be easily countered.

A greatsword combo involves a quick initial vertical slash following by a wide horizontal AOE attack. A recommended way to use this weapon is to use it as an opening strike, including a warp-strike, and then swiftly change into other weapons. Otherwise, wait for a change to slash an enemy from its back or executing a charge attack.

Due to its weight and size, Noctis cannot airstep with a greatsword.


The lance is a long spear dealing average damage but at a middle range. The best part about lance is its aerial attack where Noctis can leap into a thin air and stabs enemies several times at once.

The lance combo involves around several stabbing and piercing. At the end of the ground combo, Noctis jumps into the air for aerial strikes. Similar to the one-handed sword, Noctis can backflip while attacking, and even charge for a full thrust.


The daggers excel at consecutive combo attacks. A wielder can swiftly slash endlessly and tirelessly. It is the quickest weapon so far but lacks damage. With a proper guide and usage, daggers user can quickstepping around the enemy and attacking at the same time.

Unlike other weapons, Noctis can continuously slash enemies without having to execute a combo finisher. By holding a down analog stick with an attack button, Noctis will start throwing daggers at an enemy until it is out of range.


Pistol is a long-range weapon allowing its wielder to shoot an enemy from a far. However, it does not have any combo attack comparing to other weapons. Noctis will just keep shooting in a targeted direction.

Pistol is a good choice when a player wants to play safe by striking for afar, dodge an attack, and wait for a chance to parry and counter. It has a chance to stagger an enemy allowing a user to attack freely without a fear of getting a hit back.


We do not know much about the shield at the moment. It should be good for defending and interrupt an enemy. It is possible that Noctis can equip a shield and a one-handed sword at the same time.


Machinery consists of several weapons such as a chainsaw, an auto-crossbow, a bio blaster, and more. Unlike other weapons, Noctis cannot warp-striking with any machinery.

Machinery usually deals heavy AOE attack and have a special attack. For example, an auto-crossbow can fire a barrage of arrows. A chainsaw can be charged. A bio blaster can emit poison gas. Noctis cannot attack with some machinery while he is in the air.


Elemental Magic

Elemental magic is three common magic in Final Fantasy series including fire, blizzard, and thunder. The big different in FFXV is that it comes in a form of crafted item.

In order to craft an elemental magic, a player needs to gather elemental energies (fire, ice, and thunder), combines them together, and puts it into a magic flask. Spell damage depends on the number of energy used while crafting.

In addition, consumable items can be used as a crafting material creating additional effects to that elemental magic including a healing cast, dual cast, and even a poison cast.

Elemental magic does not cost any MP but has a slight cooldown after usage. It also has various effects based on weather and environment condition. Casting fire on a dry glass can leave that area burned for a while. Blizzard can freeze an enemy. Using thunder on a raining day increases its damage output.

It is not necessary to save a magic flask in only a difficult fight. Since magic can deal great damage to a group of monsters at once, it is an ideal for leveling.

Ring Magic

Ring magic is only available to the wielder of the Ring of Lucii. It is a royal accessory passed down from King Regis to Noctis. The wielder can cast several powerful non-elemental magic such as the death spell.

Other spells from the ring magic have not been revealed yet. They are expected to be other famous FF spells such as ultima, demi, meteor, and even support magic like protect, reflect, haste, and so on.

Royal Arms

Royal Arms are special weapons containing a power from the previous kings of Lucis. (It was called phantom swords in the past) They were hidden in the royal tombs throughout the huge world of Eos. Royal arms are an important part of Final Fantasy XV story since the first half of the game revolves around obtaining these noble weapons.

Royal arms are more powerful than a normal weapon yet gradually consumes MP. The later part of the game, Noctis should be able to execute his ultimate attack by summoning several royal arms at once to protect and attack enemies at the same time.

Currently, there are 14 confirmed royal arms so far including:

  • Sword of the Wise
  • Blade of the Mystic
  • Blade of the Brutal
  • Bow of the Airborne
  • Swords of the Wanderer
  • Blade of the Demonic
  • Axe of the Conqueror
  • Throwing Star of the Hidden
  • Shield of the Merciful
  • Staff of the Holy
  • Trident of the Oracle
  • Katana of the Fierce
  • Sword of the Father
  • Visit of the Dauntless

Character Progression with Ascension Grid and Ability Points Noctis and his buddies’ combat capability can be improved through spending ability points (AP) on the Ascension grid located under “Ascension” menu. The grid comprises of interconnected ability nodes which are further separated into 7 categories including Stats, Combat, T...


FFXV Guide to Camping and Cooking Perhaps in response to the widespread fan backlash against Final Fantasy XIII’s linearity, recent Final Fantasy XV trailers have put a heavy emphasis on just how much the game allows you to explore the world. From driving along scenic paths with friends to eating out at trendy restaurants, the game screams roa...


Royal Arms and Where to Find Them Royal Arms are the powerful weapons from the previous King of Lucis. There are 13 known Royal Arms in the game hidden in the Royal Tombs. Royal Arms play a significant part in the Final Fantasy XV series and involve in many game main story quests. Royal Arms can be equipped by only Noctis granting him the power of ...


Quests in Final Fantasy 15 Explained Quests in Final Fantasy are separated into two categories: main story quests and side quests. Side quests are even categorized further down into three types: hunting quests, regional quests, and only-for-fun. Main story quests involve around the story progression on Noctis, how he reclaims back his throne, and fu...